User Tag List

Thread: Getting a bird: Green-cheeked Conure or Budgie?

Getting a bird: Green-cheeked Conure or Budgie?

Hello everyone!

I would love to get a pet bird but want to make sure that I can give them the best life and that they are the right fit for me. I haven't owned a bird before, but my roommate this summer had a GCC, so I have some experience living with a feathered friend. Right now I can spend part of each day working from home, but at times I'll have to do the normal 9-5 hours and I know I'll be away for work for two weeks in the summer. I can spend 1-2 hours each work day with them and then be around them all weekend. I know birds need a lot of social time, so that's my main worry when getting a birdie. My husband is also worried about how they'll effect the monthly budget, so knowing how much I should expect per month on toys and food would be helpful.

I want a bird that is social, friendly, hopefully wants to cuddle, and can learn tricks. Talking ability would be pretty cool but isn't a must. From my research it seems that both budgies and GCC fit that well. My husband wants a bird that isn't loud all the time, which also seems to fit these species?

I also have two cats and a snake. I plan to take the same precautions with my feathered friend that I take with my scaly one, and keep them safely behind a door while I'm not home. I also plan to slowly accustom the cats and bird to each other hopefully, so that the cats being in the room won't be too stressful for the bird (which would be in its cage during this). Ideally I'd like to have the bird on my shoulder around the house with the cats ignoring it. I wouldn't leave them alone together. I'm considering having a radio on a timer so that when I'm gone the bird gets to hear music and people?

I have a couple of friends/coworkers who have cockatiels and have given me excellent advice, but I'd love some advice from people owning GCC and budgies. Thank you!