User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: I want to train my birds but...

Unhappy I want to train my birds but...

Edit: I found spots of injury on their bodies after examining them... I'm not ready for something like this. These guys need an expert hand, not an amateur's. As soon as I can, I'm going to put them in an adoption home, or some sort of rescue place, then getting a different bird if I can, as I'm very new to owning a bird (not necessarily animals) and feel these two might be a little more than a handful. I'm still willing... To take care of them. Don't get me wrong... But... If you can tell me what you think is the best course of action for this situation, I would appreciate it. It'd hurt my heart for sure to let them go, as I've grown to really like them (even if it's not a shared view) but am willing to do what it takes to let them be happy. I need opinions... Ugh...
    THEY WON'T LET ME! It's a very frustrating ordeal... I've heard that you need to get their wings clipped before you do anything, but to do that, they have to trust me... I can't get them to trust me. I've taken a very calm approach, and of course, it didn't work very well. They absolutely HATE- and I emphasize very highly HATE when my hand gets in the same ROOM as them, lead alone just sitting next to the door of their cage.
    I got them from my grandma, who got them from my aunt, who got them from total strangers. I think they were treated pretty poorly. They refuse to leave their cage, ever... And tbh, if I was them, I'd want to leave it. Because when we got them... That thing was HOLY **** bad! Pun intended?... Yeah, anyway, the previous owners didn't learn to clean their cage. There were ****ing SPIDER EGGS IN THE BOTTOM, AND MAGGOTS EVERYWHERE!