User Tag List

Thread: Species Recommendations? Please help!

Talking Species Recommendations? Please help!

Hello peeps! (Did you get my pun?) I'm kinda new to the bird world,(I don't own a bird, unless chickens count.) but I know a lot about them, and I think I'm ready. Anyways, I wanted to see what your opinion was as to which bird I should get. So I'm going to put my requirements in a list..

- I have to be able to find the bird in ILLINOIS or INDIANA at a breeder, pet shop, or bird show.
    - I want to buy the bird itself for 250 or lower; I may go up a bit depending on the bird itself, or how far away I have to drive to get to it.
    - Has to be smart. Trick training ability is very important, talking is also an important factor, I know it's not the only reason I want a bird, but a few words or phrases that sound clear would be nice.
    - The cage I have picked out on amazon is 1/2 inch wire spacing and 21x30x42 (WxLxH)
    - I can spend 2+ hours with the bird every day, and I will be gone for eight hours every day.
    - Now, I understand that birds are a lil noisy, but if the bird could be somewhat quiet, that would be great, as I live with other people.

I think that's it! Also, I really don't want a budgie. I know it would be a fairly good match, but please, dont recommend a budgie. I am currently looking at parrotlets, Cockatiels, and amazons. I would love to get other birds, but I dont have that kind of money.

Thanks in advance for any replies!

Parrots

Casper, a blue fronted Amazon. Loves banana. Hates plastic bags and red coats.
    Ah, you want the perfect bird, what will you do if after a few weeks it doesn't suit you?