User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: A hand feeding question

A hand feeding question

got my baby sun conure yesterday and i am hand feeding him he's 5 months old and hes the store said he is taking around 5-10cc and the evening i got him he ate 5cc then this morning he ate 5cc then tonight he ate 2cc i fed him an hour early though because im trying to get him on my schedule. when i would practice hand feeding him at the store he would eat 10cc maybe more but he always saw his siblings eat so maybe he just got jealous so he ate more. But idk im new to this im gonna try feeding him at his regular time at 7 but let me know your opinions.

Super Moderator

Parrots

8 quaker parakeets, 4 Indian Ringneck parakeets, 3 lovebirds, 5 cockatiels
    Congratulations Liam on your new friend.

I am curious though, if your new sun is 5 months old why are you hand feeding? Is it for a bonding issue?

He should be fully weaned and eating on his own. What does he eat during the day?

3. The following user likes this post:

Dragonlady2 (08-20-2017)

Sorry there was a typo hes 3 months old. He should be weaning soon though. The employee said they take longer than most birds and when he was in the baby room there were a lot of birds being fed so she thought he was just jealous of the other birds. Theres no bonding problem i've been visiting him everyday for like an hour since he was around 3 weeks old so there should be no bonding problem

Super Moderator

Parrots

Willy-Eclectus, Oliver-alexandrine, Mookie-Senegal, Bella- Australian King, Joey and Peewee- Barrabands, Peachiegirl-Peachfront conure, Pepper- crimson belly conure, Peanut-plum head, Babyblue-parrotlette, Harry and Louie-canaries.
    Are you providing other food as well for him? He should be getting some chopped fresh food and some pellets in his cage during the day. I am thinking the handfeeding formula is more of a comfort feeding. Is he getting the handfeeding formula via syringe or spoon?