User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Crest Feathers and Tail Feathers

Parrots

Charlie-2 year old lesser sulphur crested citron cockatoo Peanut -1 year old White Bellied Caique

Crest Feathers and Tail Feathers

Hi all, do our LSC2 loose their crest feathers and tail feathers. I am new to bird ownership and was just wondering do they lose those feathers over time and get replacement feathers? I am trying to avoid freaking out if I see a large tail feather or a bright yellow large feather.

Thanks!

Parrots

Casper, a blue fronted Amazon. Loves banana. Hates plastic bags and red coats.
    All feathers are replaced over time. In my experience Casper will loose his flight feathers in pairs, i.e. same feather on both sides together. His butt feathers are an entirely different matter, he was down to two remaining last year partly because he would hang by his beak from the seat of the sofa and drop onto his tail, breaking a couple as he went. They all grew back in time. He also shed all the tiny feathers above his beak all at once leaving a pink and sore looking patch but they grew back fine as well.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_4987 - Copy.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	94.8 KB 
ID:	3956
    "A busy beak is a happy beak" - David Strom

3. The following 2 users like this post:

Mare (03-31-2016), mdg1109 (03-31-2016)

Nobility Member

Parrots

Lineated Parakeet named Kobe (M) and (F) named Tango Maine Coon Kitty named Christine
    Some birds have what I call a minor molt and then some will have a major molt. Major including flights and tail feathers. Its a good idea to increase protein in the diet for a while so healthy feathers will grow in.

5. The following 3 users like this post:

Casper's 2nd best friend (03-31-2016), Mare (03-31-2016), mdg1109 (03-31-2016)

Nobility Member

Parrots

Sassy Goffin's girl, she IS Sassy Amigo, male umbrella cockatoo Chip! The cockatiel! The sweet, sweet Jellybean!