User Tag List

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How we teach parrots to fly outside???

Nobility Member

Parrots

Sassy Goffin's girl, she IS Sassy Amigo, male umbrella cockatoo Chip! The cockatiel! The sweet, sweet Jellybean!

How we teach parrots to fly outside???

I checked my email today and Bird Tricks sent me this post, "How we teach parrots to fly outside". I have seen so many posts about how easy it is to free fly your bird and so many are pictured where there are NO trees, not even a bush and it's a no brainer that your bird is going to land on the highest thing around!

I have a hard time with this kind of training. I'm no professional but in my experience your bird better be bonded to you, if not, you are taking a bigger chance, a huge risk of losing your bird. I agree with recall training, to me it means a bonding experience and that is safer than anything, in my opinion.
    Last edited by Mare; 06-18-2013 at 12:26 AM.

2. The following 3 users like this post:

Honesty (06-19-2013), ShellyBorg (06-20-2013), Turquoise (06-19-2013)

Parrots

2 Male Catalina Macaws, Roscoe & Angel~1 Female Green Wing Macaw, Ruby Jewel~1 Female Solomon Island Eclectus, Leyla Belle~1 Female Pineapple Green Cheek Conure, Peta (R.I.P.)~1 White Capped Pionus, Sierra Sunrise~ 1 Rose Breasted Cockatoo, Dakota Nakira'Too~1 female Pineapple Green Cheek Conure, Serita Lynae, 10 Parakeets
    I agree with you completely Mare and you have certainly proved you have what it takes with Amigo. You can tell he is totally bonded to you in the photos of him flying back home I have seen.

I have watched some of Bird Tricks videos & read some of their article, but I was not impressed with them to some degree. It just wasn't what I was looking for in advice & help when I first got my macaws.