PDA

View Full Version : A hand feeding question

Liam
08-19-2017, 11:15 PM
got my baby sun conure yesterday and i am hand feeding him he's 5 months old and hes the store said he is taking around 5-10cc and the evening i got him he ate 5cc then this morning he ate 5cc then tonight he ate 2cc i fed him an hour early though because im trying to get him on my schedule. when i would practice hand feeding him at the store he would eat 10cc maybe more but he always saw his siblings eat so maybe he just got jealous so he ate more. But idk im new to this im gonna try feeding him at his regular time at 7 but let me know your opinions.

Quakerella
08-19-2017, 11:47 PM
Congratulations Liam on your new friend.

I am curious though, if your new sun is 5 months old why are you hand feeding? Is it for a bonding issue?

He should be fully weaned and eating on his own. What does he eat during the day?

Liam
08-20-2017, 12:21 AM
Sorry there was a typo hes 3 months old. He should be weaning soon though. The employee said they take longer than most birds and when he was in the baby room there were a lot of birds being fed so she thought he was just jealous of the other birds. Theres no bonding problem i've been visiting him everyday for like an hour since he was around 3 weeks old so there should be no bonding problem

Dragonlady2
08-20-2017, 01:02 AM
Are you providing other food as well for him? He should be getting some chopped fresh food and some pellets in his cage during the day. I am thinking the handfeeding formula is more of a comfort feeding. Is he getting the handfeeding formula via syringe or spoon?

Liam
08-20-2017, 01:34 AM
He has pellets in his cage all the time. I dont give him fresh fruit often so i will give him more. We have a chihuahua who wants to eat him. Lol. So maybe he uses the formula as a comfort food for that. I give it to him via syringe.

Lady
08-20-2017, 03:47 AM