PDA

View Full Version : Considering A Pet Bird

BrooksiderB
12-19-2015, 09:02 PM
(Very long post, be prepared to read a book lol)
Hi, I'm new to birds and was wondering if one would be the right choice for me. (Not planning on going out and getting one right away, but was thinking here in the next year or two). I Thought it'd be a good idea to learn a bit about them to see what I'd be getting into first, instead of just buying on impulse lol.
By the time I'd be getting a bird I'd be graduated from highschool and would have a job (currently a senior). I have 2 sugar gliders, and a cat.
The biggest issue would be the other animals, but I thought since my cat and gliders could co-exist, the bird would be ok too (Correct me if I'm wrong). My cat is completely separated from the sugar gliders and would also be seperate from the bird.
Would the bird be ok just playing with me in my room everyday instead of out and about throughout the house because of the cat?
(Summary: can they co-exist safely? If not safe, I wouldn't even consider. I'm also sorry if the cat part upsets anyone, I know the dangers of them with birds and gliders but she is not allowed anywhere near them and actually isn't aware they're in the house.)
Because of the cat, the bird would be away from everything in a separate room like I mentioned before. I have read that birds like to watch people, so I was wondering if it would be ok by itself for part of the day?
Yet another question, what all do birds eat? I have no problem preparing anything for them, I do it for the gliders every night because of their specific diet. I have heard that they eat fruits, veg, "chop", and seed? What does chop mean? Do they need specific fruits, veg, and seed?
I have an extra cage in good condition, it's 4ft tall x 3ft long x 2ft wide. I've read that birds prefer longer cages compared to tall ones. Would this cage be suitable for a bird?