PDA

View Full Version : So very new!

Malissa
03-14-2015, 10:39 PM
Hello, everyone! My name is Malissa. I'm new to birds and new to this forum. I have a three year old budgie named Buddy and a one year old parrotlet named Petrow. I've had Buddy for about six months. Petrow just joined us today. Both are beautiful, entertaining birds. I had no idea how much personality could be packed into such tiny bodies!

For the most part, we're all doing just fine. Although, I do have a concern about Buddy because he flat out refuses to leave his cage. I can leave the door open for hours and he'll stay inside, playing with his toys, singing, hopping around. He just genuinely seems happier inside. Once I finally wrestle him out, though, he seems okay to perch on his playset and sing and preen a while.

Petrow has only been mine a few hours, so I don't really know him yet. I just love watching him hang upside down like he thinks he's a bat. And he makes the cutest little peeping, squeaky noises. :)

I am mostly just looking for a place to talk and learn about birds. :)

(I hope the pictures work okay. I haven't posted any before.)

Lady
03-14-2015, 11:01 PM
Hi Malissa,

:th_welcome2:to PP. Your pics are great! It is so nice that you have joined us.

I too have a bird who likes to hang out in her cage. I am always looking for ways to entice her to come out and join me. It's okay that she hangs out there but, I want her to learn that when she comes out there is more fun and interesting things to do. It is also much more fun to bond with her when she spends time out. Have you looked into target training and clicker training? Those are two methods I think work very well. Buddy may even learn quicker than my Lady but we're always working on it.

:congrats5:on your new parrotlet Petrow! Both your birds are very pretty. Hope you will post often and learn many things here as we have many wonderful experienced members.

Casper's 2nd best friend
03-14-2015, 11:09 PM