PDA

View Full Version : Introduction

MissAT
07-24-2014, 07:37 PM
Hello fellow bird lovers. I am fairly new to bird ownership with 2 parakeets I've had for about a year and a recently acquired Duyvenbode's Lory.

I've always loved birds, but to be honest was not interested in having any as pets because I've got cats and dogs (and horses and chickens and ducks and fish) and don't really like the noise of birds in the house. Anyhow, last year, a neighbor from across the road had a parakeet coming to her outdoor bird feeder, tried to catch him but couldn't. Eventually, their cat got him and brought him in the house. She called me, and I took him in. He was apparently uninjured and after I knew he was going to survive, I got him a girlfriend. They've been happy little birds ever since, named Bonnie & Clyde.

The lory came from a friend who is going through a divorce and cannot have the bird in her apartment. This was supposed to be temporary until she got herself settled, but I don't think she's ever going to be able to take him back. I absolutely adore this bird. He is just so full of fun personality. He talks, he laughs, he sings!! He loves people and has provided us with hours and hours of entertainment in the month we've had him. Of course, there are problems, too. He can be LOUD!! He can be annoying when he wants attention and I can't give it to him. He's fairly high-maintenance with his feeding needs (nectar).

I am torn about whether to ask my friend to find him a new permanent home or to just keep him myself, but in the meantime, I thought I would join this forum to read about and interact with other bird owners.

Pipo:

Bonnie & Clyde:

PlaxMacaws
07-24-2014, 08:16 PM
Hi MissAT... welcome to Precisely Parrots :)

Your lory sounds like a bird with quite a personality and one that's lots of fun. And the story about how you acquired your male budgie is amazing! I'm so glad that he wasn't injured by the cat... that's indeed a stroke of luck!!