PDA

View Full Version : Hello Everyone ^.^

HisAngel
01-05-2014, 08:43 PM
Hi everyone!,

New to the boards, and pretty green when it comes to birds, but I'm hoping this place will get me set properly to welcome a bird into the family in the coming months.... I'm no stranger to animals though... Always been an animal lover, and currently have 3 dogs a great dane, a pomeranian and a yorkie, and 6 cats. All of them were rescues, and all of them are so so special and dear to me. I've also owned ferrets, hedgehogs and sugar gliders. I am a horse trainer by trade and consider myself well versed in dog and feline behaviour as well. Worked for years in rescue, and in an animal shelter and have seen and cared for all kinds of animals. Birds have always been of interest to me, I just never had the opportunity to care 24/7 for one. Spent a lot of time with with a cockatoo named Prince in the shelter where I worked, he was an education bird, and I thoroughly enjoyed my time caring for and loving on him. My experience is limited though, and so I am eager to learn all I can before deciding on what type of bird we welcome into the fold here in our home.

I'm excited to get to know some of you :th_heart:

Ax

Honesty
01-05-2014, 09:01 PM
Hello and :pp_welcome:. Thank you for joining us.

What type of bird did you have in mind?

If you do decide on one eventually, just be very careful to keep your Cats and Dogs totally separate from your bird. We have seen some great tragedies just lately on the forum:(

We will all be happy to answer any questions you may have :) Fire away :th_wink:

HisAngel
01-05-2014, 09:21 PM
Thank you Honesty :)

Yes, the plan is to keep them seperated. I dont know if you are familiar with sugar gliders, but they are similar to flying squirrels (so very fragile in the presence of cats/dogs) ;) So we would devise a plan for that for sure. I try and be vigilant in that way :)