PDA

View Full Version : Worried about my baby.

Minamommy
11-05-2013, 02:09 AM
My 18 month old umbrella cockatoo is not weened again. She was weened until she became very ill with salmonella from her food. She had lost her appetite.now she will not eat her pellets. Just fruit and hand feeding formula. What I want to know is can a bird starve? I keep pellets available all the time. She doesn't eat them I'm still giving her formula once a day and fruit. My question is how do I get this little girl weened? I've tried everything. Birdy bread soaking food eating her bird food you name it. I take her to the vet to get her checked again on Wednesday. I'm just so scared.

Mare
11-05-2013, 03:57 AM
I'm so sorry to hear you are still having issues with this :(. I'm sure that, yes a bird can starve. When Amigo was off his feed, not eating or drinking, I definitely fed him with the syringe until I could get him to the vet. I have no experience with weaning a bird, so, I can't help you there. I hope your vet has some answers for you.

Honesty
11-05-2013, 08:38 AM
I think for now you will just have to carry on feeding with the formula and maybe the vet can guide you on this when you see him on Wed. Let us know how you get on!

Minamommy
11-06-2013, 01:20 AM
Thank you all. I know this is something I keep asking about. I feel kind of like a failure bird mommy 😓. I will let you know what I find out at the vet.

Blancaej
11-06-2013, 01:35 AM
You are no failure! We all have to learn as we go sometimes. I would continue feeding with formula until you see your vet and ask them. Good luck!

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using Tapatalk 2

Mare
11-06-2013, 03:45 AM