PDA

View Full Version : New to forum

HisPrincess
08-07-2013, 07:12 AM
Hi,

I am a newbie :th_yah::th_yah:

I am a fairly new birdie mama. I have an adorable, spunky little pineapple gcc named Tink.
Her hatch date was 4-20, so she's about 3 1/2 months old.

I have done tons of research on her care, as well as spending quite a few hours with the breeder. But I am hoping to learn a lot from all of you!

Three issues/questions I currently have and would love advice on:

1) Tink won't play with the toys I but her. I have tried all different kinds, and she just doesn't seem interested. I have a 3-ring rope toy with beads, a toy perch with a wooden "plate" and chewables, a plastic set of rings, a shiny "disco ball", a piece of wood with preening ropes attached, a paper towel holder (for shredding), etc. What should I do? I don't want her to be bored/frustrated. :(

2) how do you supplement Vit A if they don't like dark leafy greens? I give her carrots, and I'm going to try mangoes/papayas as long as they're in season. I read to give chili peppers, but won't those be too spicy??
She also gets Volkman's lovebird/conure mix, Volkman's parrot mix, and the dried egg powder stuff (I forget what it's called). I also rotate giving her things like apples, dried fruits, snap peas, mung sprouts, alfalfa sprouts, bell peppers, etc.)

3) and of most concern... When I got Tink, she was very vibrant..green wings with blue underneath, yellow and red body. Her colors are now fading a lot (which could be the Vit A thing, but between all of the stuff I give her, it doesn't seem likely). She is also losing the downy feathers on her chest. What was once a vibrant red colored area is now a duller red, with patches of white. She seems a little on the young side to be molting, but I haven't seen her plucking either. Any suggestions?

Finally, thank you to a man named Dave (from another forum) who referred me here. I tried to reply to your message on that forum, but it wouldn't let me!

Honesty